If you or a member of your staff are affected by any of these closures we highly recommend you go to the DVSA website for more information. The Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA) will be closed at times during Christmas 2017 and New Year 2018.

Driving test centres, vehicle test stations and customer support

Date Driving test centres and DVSA vehicle test stations Customer service centre
Thursday 21 December Most centres and stations will be open Open
Friday 22 December Most centres and stations will be open Closing at 4pm
Saturday 23 December Some centres will be open Closed
Sunday 24 December Some centres will be open Closed
Monday 25 December Closed Closed
Tuesday 26 December Some centres will be open Closed
Wednesday 27 December Most centres and stations will be open Closing at 4pm
Thursday 28 December Most centres and stations will be open Closing at 4pm
Friday 29 December Most centres and stations will be open Closing at 4pm
Saturday 30 December Some centres will be open Closed
Sunday 31 December Some centres will be open Closed
Monday 1 January Some centres will be open Closed
Tuesday 2 January Most centres and stations will be open Open

 

Driving tests: last date to change or cancel

The table shows the last dates you can change or cancel your theory test or driving test without losing your fee. The date depends on whether you do it online or by phone.

Test date Last date to change or cancel test (online) Last date to change or cancel test (by phone)
Friday 22 December Monday 18 December Monday 18 December
Saturday 23 December Tuesday 19 December Tuesday 19 December
Sunday 24 December Wednesday 20 December Wednesday 20 December
Tuesday 26 December Wednesday 20 December Wednesday 20 December
Wednesday 27 December Wednesday 20 December Wednesday 20 December
Thursday 28 December Thursday 21 December Thursday 21 December
Friday 29 December Friday 22 December Friday 22 December (4pm)
Saturday 30 December Tuesday 26 December Friday 22 December (4pm)
Sunday 31 December Wednesday 27 December Wednesday 27 December (4pm)
Monday 1 January Wednesday 27 December Wednesday 27 December (4pm)
Tuesday 2 January Wednesday 27 December Wednesday 27 December (4pm)
Wednesday 3 January Thursday 28 December Thursday 28 December (4pm)
Thursday 4 January Friday 29 December Friday 29 December (4pm)
Friday 5 January Monday 1 January Friday 29 December (4pm)
Saturday 6 January Tuesday 2 January Tuesday 2 January

You must give at least 3 clear working days’ notice to change your test or you’ll have to pay again. Sundays and public holidays don’t count as working days.

Vehicle tests: last date to change or cancel (England and Wales)

The table shows the last dates you can change or cancel your vehicle test in England or Wales without losing your fee.

Test date Last day to change or cancel annual vehicle test
Friday 22 December Tuesday 19 December
Saturday 23 December Tuesday 19 December
Wednesday 27 December Wednesday 20 December
Thursday 28 December Thursday 21 December
Friday 29 December Friday 22 December
Saturday 30 December Friday 22 December
Tuesday 2 January Wednesday 27 December
Wednesday 3 January Thursday 28 December
Thursday 4 January Friday 29 December
Friday 5 January Friday 29 December
Saturday 6 January Friday 29 December

You must give at least 3 clear working days’ notice to change your test date or cancel it, or you’ll have to pay again. Saturday, Sunday and public holidays don’t count as working days.